behind as i start

in pennsylvania this year, spring was slow to level out, as temps swung wildly from 70 to 30 degree weather for most of march and april. couple that with my current status of working 3 part time jobs to replenish my winter nest egg (drained to a sad 2 digits after the long winter) and i have been behind all spring on getting my plot prepped and plants going! I started tomatoes in my kitchen this march, so they aren’t nearly as far along as I’d like- they will be going out this weekend as tiny 3 leaf seedlings.. it makes me nervous, but the only chance I really have to catch up is by getting them out in the warm, humid air! note to self- start tomatoes by valentine’s day next year.. get domes for 10x20s, folding table and light rig for basement to double production! 

 i’m also anxiously awaiting my new smart pots (i use them for 90% of what i grow) so that I can direct sow greens and carrots, transplant cucumbers, and get the rest if my herbs established. in addition to more 5 gallon pots, i bought 5- 65 gallon smartpots after pricing out galvanized troughs and gagging at the prices! i can’t wait to get my hands on them!

spring is truly my favorite and most busy time of the year, and am always up for the long hours outside. after a long winter- the dirt under my nails, return to physical work, and comfort of being out with nature is always renewing. it’s been a crazy one this year, and i feel like the greenhouse i’m working for this year is getting the best of those hours! it should be an interesting game of catch up the next few weeks- but that’s all I can do! once these smartpots arrive, i’ll start trying to figure out how to fit them with hoops so that next year i’ll be better equipt for whatever temps nature throws our way! another lesson learned.. be equipt so you can counterbalance whatever the weather throws at you!

Leave a comment